‘One Nation, One Election’: Amit Shah, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury part of panel on simultaneous polls | India News

NEW DELHI: The government on Saturday announced the committee for ‘One Nation, One Election‘ which will explore the possibility of simultaneous elections in the country.
The chairman of the committee is former President Ram Nath Kovind. The high-level panel on simultaneous elections will primarily examine and make recommendations for holding simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha, assemblies, municipalities and panchayats.
Parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi had informed about the constitution of the committee on Friday.
As per the notification issued on Saturday, members of ‘One Nation, One Election’ panel are:

  • Union home minister Amit Shah
  • Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury
  • Senior advocate Harish Salve
  • Former leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad
  • Ex-chairman of Finance Commission NK Singh
  • Former Lok Sabha general secretary Subhash C Kashyap
  • Ex-Chief Vigilance Commissioner Sanjay Kothari

The 8-member panel will also study if amendments to Constitution would require ratification by states.
The government notification said that law minister Arjun Ram Meghwal will attend the meetings of the high-level committee as a special invitee.

The committee will also analyse and recommend possible solutions to scenarios such as hung House, adoption of no-confidence motion, or defection or any such other event in case of simultaneous elections.
It will hear and entertain all persons, representations and communications which in its opinion can facilitate its work and enable it to finalise its recommendations.

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! News Continue is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a Comment