Slideshow: Photography Hall of Fame awards four women 2023 honors: Digital Photography Review

Today, three remarkable women – Nan Goldin, Bea Nettles, and Vivan Maier – will be inducted into the International Photography Hall of Fame (IPHF), along with Matika Wilbur as the recipient of the Visionary Award. These honors have been granted on an annual basis, for 55 years, to those “who demonstrate the artistry, passion and evolution of the past and present art and science of photography.” A live stream of the ceremony is set to take place at 6:00 pm CT.

The Professional Photographers of America’s primary objective, when establishing the Photographic Art and Science Foundation, was to promote the history of art and industry. In 1965, the Foundation’s mission extended to include a permanent commitment to acknowledging historical photographers and inventors. This initiative eventually led to the creation of the International Photography Hall of Fame and Museum in 1977.

Full information on each recipient, plus comprehensive galleries of work, can be found on the IPHF’s official site. The IPHF hosts annual photography competitions, exhibits, lectures, and workshops for those looking to improve their craft and gain exposure. The IPHF and Museum’s permanent collection contains over 10,000 images from more than 500 artists.

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! News Continue is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a Comment